Ghana coach Otto Addo says the penalty scored by Cristiano Ronaldo throughout Ghana’s 3-2 loss to Portugal was a present from the referee.
Ronaldo gained and scored the penalty within the sixty fifth to give Portugal the lead as he grew to become the first man to score in 5 totally different editions of the FIFA World Cup.
However, Addo at the post-match convention at Stadium 974 after dealing with his first game at the World Cup said American referee Ismail Elfath erred in awarding Portugal a penalty.
“I think it was a really wrong decision, we were playing the ball… I don’t know why VAR did not come up, there was no explanation for it,” said Addo.
“It was a wrong decision. It was actually a foul against us,” Addo acknowledged.
He added: “If somebody scores a goal, congratulations. But this was a gift, really a gift.”
Addo disclosed that he tried to speak to the Major League Soccer referee about a few of the selections that went against Ghana after the game.
“I wanted to do it in a calm way but I was told he was in a meeting. He was not in our favour. We got a few yellow cards which were deserved but there was also holding of jerseys and stopping counterattacks that were also yellow cards but not given to them.”